Skip to content
February 21, 2011 / Steve Hennigs

Allow me to introduce myself


Hello everyone and welcome to WhyshouldIbuy, a blog created with the intent of pushing the limits of how business is done by bringing ideas to the table and providing a forum both professionals and consumers alike to share their knowledge so that all may benefit.

About the author
My name is Steve Hennigs and I am a 26 year old sales professional living in Bloomington, MN (just outside Minneapolis for those of you who are not “one of us” as Minnesotans like to say).  I am married to a wonderful woman named Brooke and we have an adorable cavachon puppy named Sophie.

I have been in sales for three years working for a great company called Siteimprove.  We provide a number of solutions and professional services that assist people and organizations in maintaining quality websites.

In my spare time I enjoy a variety of activities.  I love sports and cheer for a variety teams (I like the Twins, Timberwolves, 49ers, and Cornhuskers).  I try to go to games when I can but am just as happy watching them on TV.  I also enjoy spending time with my wife snowshoeing, going to movies, walking the dog, and watching the Biggest Loser together.  Finally, I very much enjoy reading.  Not so much for fun, but to continually learn about the profession I am in from those who have been doing this much longer than I.  I try to keep a list of what I have read and am reading updated on my LinkedIn profile if you are curious.

For the most part, that is me.  I love what I do and hope to always do better which leads me to the second part of this introduction, why write this blog?

Why, “WhyshouldIbuy”?

The answer is actually pretty simple.  I believe that everyone who is selling something, anything, should be able to answer the question “Why should I buy from you?”.  Anymore there are so many ways for a person to purchase a good or service.  Whether it be going to a store, ordering over the phone, ordering online, ordering from a catalog, or anything else that I may have left out it makes it very important for companies to be able to stand out from the crowd in order to survive.

By being able to answer the question “Why should I buy from you” effectively, a company or even salesperson has the opportunity to not only stand out but potentially make a real difference in the life of their consumer.  For example, when I am in conversation with a perspective client I make a very honest effort to listen in detail to the problems not only facing their organization but the problems facing the individual as well.  This listening effort leads to a deeper understanding of their situation and, more than anything else, provides the foundation for our work together.  That way when I need to answer why they should buy from me it is so much more than what our product does.  It becomes what our company, our product, and even me specifically will do over time to make their job easier and their organization’s website improve.

I listen well and work hard to understand what I have heard to ultimately provide you with a service that is personal to you.  That is why you should buy from me.  Why should I buy from you?

Thank you in advance

Of course there are a million other ways that you could be spending your time, and that just accounts for the web.  So I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment on any post I make.  I hope in return to reward your attention with interesting thoughts and discussion that will inspire you.  Whether you sell car parts, lawn treatment, designer shoes, or ideas (yes, ideas must be sold too) let me know “Why should I buy from you”?

