Skip to content
October 4, 2011 / Steve Hennigs

Would you buy from you?


Would you I buy from me?  It is a question that I ask myself from time to time after a sales call just to be sure I have not grown stale in my approach.

The majority of the time the answer is yes but occasionally after an appointment I can truly say that I would not have bought what was being sold even if it were given to me for free!  While I certainly do not want to have any poor sales calls, the ones that I do have offer me the opportunity for self-reflection.  Perhaps you as a sales, marketing, or business professional can relate?  If that is the case then I would suggest asking yourself the following questions after a not so great meeting.

  1. Did I ask good questions?
    Good questions are the foundation of good selling.  I wrote an earlier post on how to ask good questions if you are curious.  If I have not asked good questions than nothing else matters, that is what I need to focus on for my next call.
  2. Did I make an effort to really listen to what the prospect was saying?
    This is my number one downfall.  I am a talker by nature and I get into trouble if that aspect of my personality takes over a meeting.  How can I possibly know if my solutions can help the prospect if I have not listened intently to their issues?  When this is my issue I refer back to the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, Habit 5, “Seek First to Understand”.  If I really listen with the intent to understand your prospect rather than listening to respond there is a much better chance I can relay how my solutions will benefit them directly.
  3.  Did I finish the call knowing what the next steps are?
    I could have the greatest sales call in the world and if at the end the prospect and I have not agreed on next steps than it was all for naught.  By making sure both the prospect and I are on the same page in terms of what comes next I can stay in control of the sales cycle.  If the prospect and I part ways with no definitive next steps, I have not done my job.

So there you have it.  These are the three questions that help me get back on track.  I have a few questions for you.  Would you buy from you?  If the answer is no, how would you fix it?

