Skip to content
October 17, 2011 / Steve Hennigs

The Best Advice I Ever Received


My father has been a Lutheran minister for nearly 30 years.  He has rescued congregations from the brink of falling apart and secured building funds of up to two million dollars to upgrade a church sanctuary.  He is someone who I have a lot of professional respect (and personal love) for.

I do not think that I would be too different from many people out there when I say that the best advice I have ever received came from my father.  He provided me with words to live by.  When I was young he told me this:

“There are only two things in life that you can control; how hard you work and your attitude.  Nothing else is worth worrying about.”

It is these words that helped me become successful in my career, get through hard times, and continue to grow as a person.  Dad if you are reading this, thank you.  I will however add to your advice and say this:

“There are three things in life that you can control; how hard you work, how smart you work, and your attitude.”

This may seem like a minute adjustment but I am convinced it is a necessary addition.  So this is the advice I impart to anyone who reads this post.  Work hard, work smart, and be positive.  If you do these three things you will always eventually come out on top.

What advice have you received that is worth sharing?

2 Comments

  1. Amy Bowser-Rollins / Oct 18 2011 3:10 PM

    Good advice you received. I might add “be yourself and not someone you think they want you to be”. Authenticity is important, I believe.

    • Steve Hennigs / Oct 19 2011 11:50 AM

      There is no doubt that authenticity is very important. People will see through fake behaviors quickly.

      Thank you for sharing that Amy!

Comments are closed.

