Skip to content
December 19, 2011 / Steve Hennigs

Be goal oriented, my advice for 2012

Man with broken path to a goal. He is holding the missing piece of the path.

Recently I have finished reading a book entitled “The Best Damn Sales Book Ever: 16 Rock-Solid Rules for Achieving Sales Success!” by Warren Greshes. While I thought there were a number of good points related to Sales what really stood out to me was Mr. Greshes’s strong belief in living a goal oriented life.

As I thought about how to wrap up the year in regards to this blog it seemed like an obvious choice to discuss the idea of being goal oriented and share a few of my own personal goals for 2012.

Before I share a few of my goals I would like to present what I feel the benefit of being goal oriented to be. By setting goals you actively determine what is important to you and take the first step to making that a reality.

It is hard work to say definitively that “This is what I want to accomplish and here is how I am going to do it”. That being said, it is worth it.

So how does a person go about setting goals? Here are a few tips:

  • Be specific about what you want to accomplish – I want to lose 20 pounds
  • Determine a time frame for accomplishing your goal – I want to lose 20 pounds by April 1, 2012
  • Aim high! – I want to lose 30 pounds by April 1, 2012
  • Determine how you are going to accomplish the goal – I will only eat takeout once per week and I will exercise three times per week for at least one hour
  • Write this all down and put it somewhere you can see it every day!
  • Ensure you have buy in from your family

Now that you have the formula for effective goal setting, get to it! Here are a few of my goals if you need some inspiration:

  • Read at least one book per month
  • Post at least twice per week to this blog
  • Exercise at least three times per week at for at least one hour per session
  • Practice guitar at least two times per week for at least 30 minutes per session
  • Make $XXX,XXX,XXX for the year (I have a real number written down) by closing X number of deals from X number of client meetings

Those are some of mine, what are your goals for the coming year?

Happy holidays to all and thank you again for taking the time to read this and any other post on WhyshouldIbuy.

4 Comments

  1. Cassie / Dec 19 2011 1:47 PM

    Thanks for reminding me. I need to make my list of goals for next year!

    • Steve Hennigs / Dec 19 2011 1:52 PM

      Thanks for reading the post, Cassie! Glad that it helped.

  2. Lowell Hennigs / Dec 19 2011 4:19 PM

    Great stuff, Steve! Fun to read what you write!

    • Steve Hennigs / Dec 19 2011 9:58 PM

      Glad you like it Dad. Blogging has definitely become something I really enjoy.

Comments are closed.

