Skip to content
January 3, 2012 / Steve Hennigs

The importance of thank you


I have not always sent thank you notes after receiving gifts (Christmas, Birthdays, etc.) but have started in the past few years with some encouragement from my wonderful wife.  I used to think they were trivial and insincere but they certainly do not have to be.  In fact a thoughtful thank you, whether it be a card or in person, can really leave a great lasting impression on the individual receiving thanks.

This is true in both personal and business settings.  A thank you for a gift, thank you for purchasing your offering, or thank you for completing a task at work makes the other person feel appreciated for their efforts.  This can be beneficial for you in the future but I suggest you to it simply because it is the right thing to do.

So next time you receive anything from another that you appreciate take the time to sincerely thank them.  You will feel good because you are doing the right thing and they will feel appreciated for their good deed.

2 Comments

  1. Amy / Jan 3 2012 9:27 PM

    Hey Steve – It’s funny that you need to post this reminder, isn’t it? I am an avid thanker. I thank people for the smallest things because it can go a long way and I want to so show my appreciation. Some people are shocked to hear me thank them because they hardly hear it. That is sad. I have 3 friends in sales that make a point of sending written thank you notes and I am always impressed that they take the time. One of those friends takes this practice into her personal life and has sent me several written thank you notes on personal matters. Getting that envelope via snail mail is a good feeling and it definitely stands out as a lasting memory. So, thanks for your post about thanks. Ha!

  2. Steve Hennigs / Jan 4 2012 8:13 AM

    Hi Amy! That is sad that people are surprised to hear you thank them and it that makes a post like this all the more important. People are getting busier and busier so little things like saying ‘thank you’ really make you stand out.

    It is not difficult to take the few seconds necessary to thank someone. It only needs to be a priority. Thank you for your comment and for continuing to read my blog.

    Happy New Year!

Comments are closed.

