Skip to content
May 13, 2012 / Steve Hennigs

My Mom would have been a hell of a saleswoman


When most people think of a saleswoman the image is generally that of what has been played out in the movies and on TV. Someone who is slick talking and is willing to screw over her customers just to make a buck. That has given salespeople in general a bad rap (unfortunately there are still some of those folks out there. I urge you to go away).

A great saleswoman cares about her customers, understands how to improve her customer’s life/business and works with (not against) her customers to make that benefit a reality. Beyond being very knowledgable about her customers a great saleswoman is also very likable, trustworthy and accountable.

Based on how my Mom took care of her two customers (my brother and I) as we were growing up she would have made a great saleswoman. She knew exactly what we needed each and every day to be successful and she always delivered. She would drop whatever she was doing to make sure we were on the right track at all times and I appreciate that more and more every day. She didn’t just stop there however. She did what all great saleswomen do and followed up routinely to make sure we continued to be successful. To say that I learned a lot from my Mom is a gross understatement.

She (along with my Dad) also followed through on promises and was a strong negotiator which are other traits of a great saleswoman. Good grades led to rewards, getting a job in highschool meant I would get financial help for bigger purchases, and other deals like this. She instilled in me a strong work ethic that has served me well.

So I  wish my Mom, and all other Moms out there, a Happy Mother’s Day. You are the reason your children grow to be successful and happy and there is no one better suited for the job.

I miss you Mom and love you very much. I am sure you are taking care of some other satisfied customers where you are now.

Spend some time with your Mom today whether that be by phone or in person and make her feel the appreciation she deserves. As always, thanks for reading.

